Archive for March, 2010

Sunday Run – 4th April

Posted: Wednesday, March 31st, 2010

Sunday 4th April – Meltham/Holmfirth/New Mill/Lockwood/Meltham

A steady 16 mile road run (with an additional 4 or 6 mile loop option for last long run marathoners, or a shorter 12 mile option if required) with re-groupings as appropriate

9 am from the Community Centre

Contact Martin (852048) or Mike (329482) for information

Wakefield Hospice 10K

Posted: Sunday, March 28th, 2010

Sunday saw the annual Wakefield Hospice 10K, with almost 1200 runners taking the start. The race was won by Mark Warmby in 31 mins 07 secs, with Helen Singleton winning the Ladies race. Meltham had two runners, with Andy Whitworth 11th in 35 mins 05 secs and Christopher Oldfield in 170 (43 mins 21 secs). Andy even made the local evening Calendar News.
Full Results

Sunday Run – 28th March

Posted: Wednesday, March 24th, 2010

On Sunday 28th March there will be a steady 11 mile run with re-groupings as appropriate, starting at 9am from the Community Centre.

 Contact Martin (852048) or Mike (329482) for information

Epilepsy Action Bradford 10k

Posted: Sunday, March 21st, 2010

Andy in actionSunday saw a great run by Andy Whitworth to take 3rd place  in the Epilepsy Action Bradford 10k.

The Epilepsy Action Bradford 10K road race was recently voted the fourth best in Britain for running a personal best and almost perfect conditions on Sunday put this to the test. Entrants from around the country took part, with Ben Bennett of Nottingham finishing clear to win the men’s event in 33min 15sec.

 Bingley’s Mary Wilkinson won the women’s race in 36:08. Full Results

Spen 20

Posted: Sunday, March 14th, 2010

Sunday saw a double header of local races. With most of the club over the hill in Marsden for the Ian Roberts Fell Race  (1st counting event in the club championships), a few brave souls dared to tackle the Spen 20.

Andrew Beardsley was first back for the club in 2 hrs 25 mins 05 secs, with Mel Sykes our first lady home.

57 – Andrew Beardsley 2:25:05
131 - Mel Sykes 2:44:12
138 – Hayley Lomas 2:47:04
151 – Mick Lunn 2:49:29
206 – Martin Sturdy 3:04:04
217 -  Lisa Oldfield 3:07:15
239 - Angela Allum 3:16:31


Ian Roberts

Posted: Sunday, March 14th, 2010

Andy Whitworth once again led the club efforts behind a rampant Sean Carey (Todmorden Harriers) who finished in 48:07, almost a minute clear of Ryan Gould (Salford Harriers) with Bill Stewart of the host club in 3rd.

5 – Andy Whitworth 53.02
7 -Rob James 53.16
27 – Ray McArthur 60.08
50 - Barry Tyas 67.46
53 - Andy Hargreaves 68.24
61 - Andrew Tyack 69.26
64 - Gilly Markham70.27
65 - Nigel Thomas 70.33
80 - Sue Heap 77.12
89 – Ruth Thomas 81.00
91 – Fiona McArthur 83.05
92 - Alison Hargreaves 90.22
94 – Wayne Hancock 97.31


Annual Club Dinner

Posted: Saturday, March 6th, 2010

The 2010 Annual Club Dinner was held at Durker Roods on Saturday 6th March. The trophy winners for the 2009/10 season were:

  • Ladies Championship Trophy – Gilly Markham
  • Mens Championship Trophy – Ray McArthur
  • Ladies Handicap Trophy – Fiona McArthur
  • Mens Handicap Trophy – Mick Lunn
  • Point to Point Champions – Martin Sturdy & Graham Sykes
  • Ladies Fell Champion – Gilly Markham
  • Mens Fell Champion – Ray McArthur
  • Summer Handicap Race Champion – Sharon Whitworth
  • Winter Handicap Race Champion – Giles Bailey
  • Team Champions – Graham Sykes, Andy Whitworth, Richard Beaumont
  • Run of the Year Winners – Fran Whitworth and Gilly Markham for Karrimor Mountain Marathon
  • Meltham 10k Shields – Rob James and Haley Lomas